Going North

by Luciane Cardassi

/
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.

about

Music for piano (+ voice) and electronic sounds by Canadian and Brazilian composers

Luciane Cardassi, performer

TRACKS
1. AhojAhoj (2011) by Terri Hron
2. Dois Aforismos com Interlúdio (2010) by Jorge Villavicencio Grossmann
3. Wonder (2012) by Emilie LeBel; Text: Sue Sinclair
4. Berimbau (2019) by Alexandre Espinheira
5. Estudo de um piano (2008) by Chantale Laplante
6. for will robbins (2010) by Darren Miller
7. Converse (2018) 9:50 by Lia Sfoggia, Guilherme Bertissolo, Luciane Cardassi
8. The Boat Sings (2012) by Fernando Mattos

The eight electronics-infused solos heard on "Going North" collectively inhabit a world that is opaque yet ethereal, introspective but restlessly dynamic. Each one’s electroacoustic elements read as organic, psychedelic extensions of her performance rather than as contrived digital appendages—an impression helped by Cardassi’s exquisite command of the piano’s extended vocabulary. Together the compositions form a continuous but ever-changing path, mirroring Cardassi’s ongoing journey between Brazil and Canada while vividly unfolding magic-realist excursion for listeners.

Watch a trailer for the album created by Snapshots Foundation here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4-m9z-KLrI

WEBSITE:
redshiftrecords.org/releases/tk480/

REVIEWS:
“Going North’s actual power is that it has created its own abstracted zone, a form of mutant jazz or textural electronics as much as a gently fragmenting multi-layered suite. A wildly odd and bristling work, squeezing every thoughtful drop out of seldom grouped and gathered ingredients.” — John Nicol, Obladada

“Going North transits between contemporary classical, experimental and contemporary music. The piano fragments create a permanent tension together with an abstract and expressive dialogue.” — Guillermo Escudero, Loop.cl

“Cardassi’s selections feel incredibly personal and are furnished with emotional weight… 8/10” — Bryon Hayes, Exclaim!

“A thrilling vision of Contemporary Classical Music” — Nitestylez.de

credits

released October 30, 2020

CREDITS
Producer: Luciane Cardassi
Recording producer, mixing engineer: Amandine Pras
Mastering engineer: Graemme Brown – Zen Mastering
Recorded at the Rolston Recital Hall, Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, in May 2019
Assistant engineers: Andrew Chung, Mike Fiore, Chris Kengard and Matthew Manifould
Audio and Music Technician: Henry Ng
Coordinator of the Audio Recording Engineer Practicum: James Clemens-Seely
Piano Technician: Albert Picknell
Graphic design: Rosana Almendares
Cover photograph: Lia Sfoggia – Via Lua Fotografia
Make-up: Gabi Marins
For complete program notes: lucianecardassi.com/going-north/

Websites:
Terri Hron terrihron.com
Jorge Villavicencio Grossmann www.shadowofthevoices.com
Emilie LeBel www.emilielebel.ca
Alexandre Espinheira alexandre-espinheira.com
Chantale Laplante www.chantalelaplante.ca
Darren Miller www.darrenmiller.ca
Guilherme Bertissolo guilhermebertissolo.com
Lia Sfoggia liasfoggia.wordpress.com
Luciane Cardassi lucianecardassi.com

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

Redshift Music Vancouver, British Columbia

Redshift was founded in Vancouver, Canada with a focus on championing the music of contemporary composers.

contact / help

Contact Redshift Music

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account